Jennifer:
After working in corporate America for two years, I decided I had enough.  I had a husband whom I hardly ever saw and a 2 year-old daughter who called every woman “Mommy” except for me.   I decided I needed to embark on  a career that would make me feel good about making a contribution to the world.  A career that would allow me to enlighten peoples’ minds as well as give me a challenge.   A career that would give me the flexibility and balance of family life and work life.  “I got it!,” I cry.  “I am going to teach!”
 
Inside I wonder, ‘Why didn’t I think of this before?  This career as a teacher will give me all that I ask for and more.  And will be perfect to teach Social Science.  After all, I do have a degree in Political Science and I love history, government, and politics (oh my!)’
 
So I went to a teacher’s job fair and interviewed for a position.  I was so freaking happy at my possible new career I did not really pay much attention to what the interviewer was saying.  Luckily she didn’t notice and she hired me on the spot! I was completely smitten with my new role in life.  At orientation I was so busy chatting with the person next to me that I did not hear what they said about salary, benefits, or any other perks that came with the job.  I was going to be a teacher and enhance and mold the young minds of America.  And get to see my family a whole lot more, too.
 
From day one, I liked everything about it.  I liked the students, the colleagues, and the school.  My excitement was on such a high level that I didn’t even realize when payday rolled around. 
 
YEAH, PAYDAY!  I am so excited! (Cue music, the Pointer Sisters singing, “I am so excited and I just can’t hide it.  I am about to lose control and I think I like it.”) I open my pay stub and WTH?  I look at (more like studied) the pay stub and think that this cannot be right.
 
I get home and DH asks me if today was payday for me.  I hand him the pay stub and he’s “so excited” for me.  He tells me that this is not a bad check.  I think he is kidding, or just trying to be nice.  He says that it is a pretty good check for my first week.  I inform him that the pay stub is for TWO weeks.  (Cue record scratching sound of Pointer Sisters song in husband’s head stopping mid-beat.)  He’s not so excited anymore.
He asks me if they forgot to move the decimal point to the right.  I tell him no.  He suggests that maybe they mistakenly left out a digit.  I reply again no.  I take the pay stub from him and look at it again.  Ooh!  I do discover a mistake!  The pay stub is for 15 days of work PLUS two days of orientation, so it is for even more than my normal paychecks will be.

The next day I go to work and ask my principal if it is too late to negotiate on the contract!

 
Deborah’s reply (SPOILER ALERT):
At least you got to spend more time with your family because two years later they laid you off!
