Jennifer:

Every woman has certain qualities that she looks for in a husband. Some go for looks, status, and wealth. Others go for humor and education. And there is a still a small percent that go for things like morals and code of ethics. While all of the above sounds great and promising, my number one question for my future mate was, “Who is your HMO?”

Growing up my mother drilled into my head the importance of having great health benefits. She would say things like, “Yeah, he takes a pretty picture but can that picture give you a low to zero copay? Think about it Jennifer.” And I did (all the time)!

When I met DH (future blog about that encounter later) he had what I looked for in a future mate. When I asked him that important question about who is his health provider, I heard angels sing. Taking it one step further I asked him how much is his copay and when he replied nothing, I literally heard a voice scream “TRAP MARRY HIM!”

Five years later these were the wedding vows that were witnessed to be heard:

Clergy: “Do you, DH, take Jennifer, to be your lawfully wedded wife, to have and to hold from this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer or for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, till death do you part?”

DH: “I do!”

Clergy: “Do you, Jennifer, take DH, to be your lawfully wedded husband, to have and to hold from this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer or for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, till death do you part?”

Jennifer: “No, I will take DH on this day forward for better or for worse, in sickness and in health, and for richer and richer and better health insurance because this is as poor as I am going to get!”

DH kept his promise about taking me for richer or poorer and just recently added the promise of taking me to the unemployment office to see what is the holdup with my checks.

Deborah:

The other option would have been to marry a Brit and move to England where they have socialized medicine. But that would have meant putting up with all those bad teeth. Still, no cost healthcare = lots of money to put towards braces!

Another bonus, the average English person gets 4-6 weeks paid vacation, six months paid maternity leave and six months sick leave. So when evaluating the suitability of a potential mate do not overlook the possibility of access to dual citizenship!

