Ms Poure:

When your friend comes up to you and shrieks in a high pitched tone that only hyenas can understand, you generally want to cover your ears. When, however, this kind of reaction is followed by her showing her you a new ring on her left hand and you start shrieking just as loud as her: WE (the ‘we’ in this picture is her and all of her close friends) are having a wedding! Yes, she and the fiance are getting married but WE GIRLS are having a wedding!

After the excitement and the yelling, the bride then pops the question, “Will you be my bridesmaid?” Let the shrieking begin all over again!

I love weddings but better yet I love wedding receptions. The food, the decor, the music, the dancing, and to many THE OPEN BAR! Going to wedding receptions are fun but being part of the wedding party, that is a whole another level! A whole another level that is going to leave you BROKE!

There are bridesmaids that complain about how much money they have to shell out for this type of event. But when you are asked, remember your role is already stated in your job’s name. You will be a BRIDESMAID, as in “maid of the bride.” So expect to be told what to do, what to wear, where to go, what to eat for months before, right through the day of the event. Then, after you have safely walked your boss, I mean the bride, down the aisle your will be told bluntly, “Thank you for all your hard work. Your services will no longer be needed.” If you feel you can’t hack it – or afford it – you should bow out now because you know the saying, “Hell hath no fury like a Bridezilla scorned.”

I have been a bridesmaid three times. Whenever I am asked the procedure is always the same. I start making mental calculations as to how much I am going to spend. The dress, the bachelorette party, the bridal shower gift, the hair, the makeup, the accessories, the wedding gift. Break out the hives! How am I going to pay for all of this?

I know what I must do. I run over to the mall and fill out an application for a part time job! When asked, “Why do I want to work at such and such?”

“Because I just became a bridesmaid!”

I do know that on my friend’s wedding day, the look on her face and how beautiful she will be in her wedding attire will be worth the sacrifices I will make. Even the lime green suede shoes I am forced to buy/wear/keep in a closet for the rest of my life because no one on Ebay wants to buy them and the Goodwill refuses to accept them as donations.

Ms Dephicit:

Weddings are scary. Brides and mother-of-the brides even scarier. The cost of being in a wedding: priceless (as in so high there is no numerical number to represent its cost.)

But still its fun and we do love our friends and family and the open bars they provide!

